top of page
Follow Me
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Classic

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Vitamins do what again???


While trying to go vegan, I encountered a huge problem…how the heck am I going to get enough protein? I mean I love tofu and tempeh, but a girl can only eat so much. So, I started to turn to protein shakes. With shakes and meal replacements becoming so popular, there are more options out there than I know what to do with. I’ve tried Shakeology, but decided it was just too expensive to buy on a regular basis and I was convinced I could find something comparable and so my quest began!

First I looked at the vitamins and nutrients in other protein shakes and realized they’re all about the same. Ok so what’s all the hoot about Shakeology then?! After doing a bit of research I couldn’t find a single bad article on the damn thing. NOT ONE! I thought this to be pretty freaking impressive. What I learned was that yes, it is expensive, but you really are getting what you’re paying for thanks to the added superfoods. Sure, I found some other shakes with goji berries, acai, and pomegranate, but nothing comparable to the enormous superfood list as Shakeology. Now, am I going rush over and sign up for monthly shipment…no. It’s an investment that I look forward to eventually making, but as I said it’s expensive and not everyone can afford to invest in their health quite like that. I have been told there are also many other benefits to drinking Shakeology daily and I hope to one day discover these, but for now an occasional shake (to make it stretch a few months) and regular healthy eating will have to suffice. But hey, if anyone knows of any great protein shakes out there please feel free to clue me in. I’m always up for a good suggestion!

Coming back from my Shakeology tangent…

While researching all these protein powders I read the names of more vitamins than I could count. But what exactly do they all do? I sure didn’t know. So, like any modern woman, I went to Pinterest trying to find an infographic that shed some like on the important vitamins and nutrients and which foods they could be found in. I was quickly disappointed. Not only was I provide little information, but I noticed that for several of the vitamins only animal products were listed as good sources. What the heck are vegetarians and vegans to do? Take a bunch of supplements? And aren’t getting vitamins and nutrients from whole foods better? I decided to do a bit of my own investigation and get some basic information on these necessary vitamins. Fear not vegans and vegetarians, there are PLENTY of plant base sources that can aid in providing the recommended amounts of consumption. I provided the infographic I found as well as my very own special for vegetarians and vegans, with no animal products listed. I hope this helps you gain a better understanding of what foods to eat and why each vitamin/nutrient is so important.

bottom of page